Division Emergency

School closures due to Evacuation Orders

School Closures due to wildfires

Any decision regarding school operations will be announced once more information becomes available.

Evacuation Orders

Sunday, May 26, 2019, at 6:00 p.m.: Paddle Prairie Métis Settlement

Re-entry for communities previously under Evacuation Order

Wednesday, June 12, 2019: Phase 3 Re-entry (Return of Residents) for Wabasca-Desmarais, Sandy Lake and Chipewyan Lake. The threat of wildfire still exists for the above-mentioned communities. As a result, an eight (8) hour Evacuation Alert will remain in effect. 

Question and Answer page for students, parents, staff impacted by the wildfires

Click here to view the Question and Answer page.

Division News

Kee Tas Kee Now Tribal Council (KTC)

On March 20, 2012, a partnership agreement was signed between Kee Tas Kee Now Tribal Council (KTC) and Northland School Division. The agreement supports an initiative that will improve education outcomes for First Nation and Métis students in north central Alberta. 

Schools involved in the Agreement

  • Bishop Routhier School (NSD)
  • Gift Lake School (NSD)
  • Grouard Northland School (NSD)
  • Hillview School (NSD)
  • Kateri School (NSD
  • Little Buffalo School (NSD)
  • Peerless Lake School (NSD)
  • Cadotte Lake School (KTC)
  • Clarence Jaycox School, Loon River (KTC)
  • Atikameg School (KTC)

Click here to view the Partnership Agreement

The partnership is also supported by the Building Collaboration and Capacity in Education Grant Program. Click here to learn more.