Division News

Division News

NSD Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee recognized at ASBA Fall Awards Ceremony

Posted on September 21

Northland School Division recently celebrated one of its educators at the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone One Fall Awards Ceremony. 

Jay Klair, an educator from Bishop Routhier School in the Peavine Métis Settlement, was recognized for his Edwin Parr Teacher Award nomination. 

The Edwin Parr Teacher Award recognizes first-year teachers that demonstrate exemplary dedication and commitment to the field of education.

“As a first-year teacher, Jay’s dedication to working with children is highly evident,” said Cathy Wanyandie, Board Chair. “We appreciate the passion and effort he puts in to support student success. On behalf of the Board of Trustees, I congratulate Jay on being recognized by the ASBA.” 

“Jay is being recognized for his ability to connect with students and meet their learning needs, “ said Shelley Willier, Superintendent of Schools/CEO. Congratulations Jay and thank you for your efforts to create a learning environment where students feel comfortable and eager to learn!” 

The ASBA Zone One Fall Awards Ceremony took place on September 20, 2023, in Peace River. 

Erica Cunningham said on September 21, 2023

Congratulations Jay!!